On this page, you will find links to resources and other information about Missouri hardship drivers licenses.
Drivers Hardship License Law – General – Missouri1. Does the law allow for granting a hardship license? If you cannot get your driver license back, but you need to drive for employment or other important matters, you may apply for limited driving privileges (LDP). You may get such privileges unless you have certain convictions or losses of license on your driving record. The following reasons will disqualify you from receiving an LDP:
1. You have already received an LDP within the last five year period (effective August 28, 1999). 2. Conviction for a felony involving the use of a motor vehicle. 3. Conviction for leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident (does not include municipal or county convictions). 4. Two or more revocations for refusing a drug or alcohol test. 5. Disqualification of commercial driving privileges (Note: only a non-commercial limited driving privilege may be issued in this case). 6. Conviction for driving a motor vehicle under the influence of drugs or controlled substances. 7. Multiple convictions involving alcohol or narcotic drugs. 8. Revocation for failure to pass a driving and/or medical examination as required by the Director of Revenue. 9. Suspension for an unsatisfied motor vehicle accident judgment (until payment has been made and/or compliance has been met). 10. Suspension for failure to pay ticket(s) in Missouri or in another state (until payment has been made and/or compliance has been met). 11. Less than 30 days have been served of a suspension/revocation that resulted from a convicton for driving while intoxicated (DWI) or driving with excessive blood alcohol concentration (BAC). 12. Less than 90 days have been served of a revocation for refusal to submit to drug or alcohol test. 13. Less than 30 days have been served of a Department of Revenue administrative alcohol suspension for driving a motor vehicle with a BAC over the legal limit. 14. The entire period of revocation has not been served of a Department of Revenue administrative alcohol revocation for driving a motor vehicle with a BAC over the legal limit.NOTE: Beginning August 28, 2001, if you are a prior or persistent offender, the court must order an ignition interlock device for any vehicle you drive. Therefore, you will be required to apply for an LDP in the circuit court in the county where you live or work. 2. What are the requrements for a hardship license (limited driving privilege)? You need to fill out an Application for a Limited Driving Privilege (LDP. If you have any questions about the application, please call (573) 751-4475, or e-mail firstname.lastname@example.org. If you do not have proof of liability insurance on file with the Driver and Vehicle Services Bureau, you will need to have your insurance company provide such proof (i.e., SR-22 form) or submit a copy of the SR-22 form with your application. Your application will be reviewed within five working days and an order granting or denying an LDP will be sent to you. You may also apply for an LDP by filing a petition with the associate circuit court in the county where you live or work. A filing fee and court costs will be required when filing the petition. Limited driver license form: http://dor.mo.gov/forms/4595.pdf